Inch by inch

I had BIG plans for my garden this year…I’ve been eyeing the plot for the last 2 summers, waiting for the day when I’d be around enough to really dive in.  So far, so good, I’m happy to say… From seed, I planted carrots, basil, beets, squash, and melons. All but the basil seems to be on the way. From starts, I planted zucchini, beets, brussels sprouts, chard, spinach, strawberries, mint, corn, basil, cilantro, parsley, broccoli, lettuce, a cherry tree with 4 varieties of cherries, and 18 tomato plants.  We still have 3 grape vines and a couple of kiwis to stick in the ground.

I’ve been trying my hand at lasagna gardening and so far, I’m liking the approach.  

Now if I can just keep down the slugs and buttercups and horsetails and keep the sheep out of the garden, all will be well.

I’ll post a photo soon.

Leave a comment