Cheese CSA

Interesting article about a cheese subscription program. This is apparently  “the first time this financial model has been applied to a food processor.”  I like the idea, although I would be a bit hesitant to limit all my cheese consumption to just one producer. We have so many exciting producers to choose from, that even if my favorite dairy did something like this, I’d be hesitant to sign on. Perhaps there’s a model where multiple dairies get together?  Or, even better might be to group a dairy, vineyard, chocolatier, baker, and meat producer, so that you got less product from each producer, but enough overall?  It would be a question of whether you could get enough of a subscription base to make it worth everyone’s while. 

Thanks for the lead, Attaboy!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Luke Andrews said,

    I thought you might pick up on that. I like the idea too, but it’s hard to imagine putting $200+ down on such a high-risk enterprise. If starting a cheese business in Ontario is so hard, then the value of a $50 annual voucher for 5 years seems dubious. Since this sounds a lot like venture capital already, your idea of spreading money across multiple ventures makes a lot more sense. But I also think that to get people interested, you’d have to offer more than just vouchers as a return. If I’m going to put hundreds of dollars into a business that may fail, I want more than the possibility of some tasty cheese in return.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment